Pattern formation, energy landscapes, and scaling laws

Felix Otto

Contact: Email
+49 (0) 341 - 9959 - 950

Inselstr. 22
04103 Leipzig

Administrative Assistant:
Katja Heid
Email, Phone/Fax:
+49 (0) 341 - 9959
- 951
- 658

Felix Otto - More Information


1997A. P. Sloan Research Fellowship
2001Max-Planck Forschungspreis
2006 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis
2007 Collatz-Prize


1998 Universität Erlangen (C4-Professor)
1999 University of Wisconsin-Madison (Full Professor)
1999 University of Texas at Austin (Full Professor)
1999 University of Chicago (Full Professor)

Editorships and Service to the Community

1999Archive for Rational Mechanics and Analysis
2002-2008SIAM Journal for Multiscale Modeling and Simulation
Since 2010Journal of Functional Analysis
Since 2011Journal of Evolution Equations
Since 2012Journal of Nonlinear Science
Since 2014La collection Maths and Applications, SMAi (Comité éditorial)
Since 2015Proceedings of the Edinburgh Mathematical Society (Consulting editor)
  • Chair of Scientific Committee Oberwolfach
  • Member of the Advisory Board 'Fondation Mathématique Jacques Hadamard'
  • Member of the External Scientific Board ‘MILYON’ (Mathématiques et Informatique à Lyon)
  • Finding Committee University Counsil Bonn
  • Reviewer for the DFG in the 3rd funding line of the Excellence Initiative
  • External member of the Appointment Committee in Oldenburg, Berlin, Köln
  • Member of the DFG Review Board 'Mathematics' for the period 2012-2019
  • Member of the Advisory Board of the Physics Faculty, University of Leipzig
  • Member of the scientific committee of Bézout LabEx and Fédération
  • SIAM Council (2014–)
  • Advisory Board SISSA, Trieste (2017–)

Previous supervised PhD Students 

  • Ruben Cantero-Alvarez
  • Lukas Döring
  • Jörg Drewenski
  • Wolf-Patrick Düll
  • Elias Esselborn
  • Arianna Giunti
  • Manuel Gnann
  • Natalie Grunewald
  • Hans Knüpfer
  • Tim Laux
  • Christian Löschcke
  • Georg Menz
  • Camilla Nobili
  • Patrick Penzler
  • Tobias Rump
  • Christian Seis 
  • Thilo Simon
  • Jutta Steiner
  • Thomas Viehmann
14.11.2019, 12:30