Future proof

Future proof is our alumni column and features stories of our (former) scientists, their achievements and career development.

Future proof — Paul Breiding (20.04.2022)

In April our group leader Paul Breiding moved to the Mathematical Institute at Osnabrück University. He is now a professor for mathematical methods in the data sciences. We would like to congratulate him and wish him all the best in his new position. Learn more about his work and life at the institute and his aspirations for the future in our Future proof column.

Read more >>>

Future proof — Jonas Sauer joins Uni Jena as Junior Professor (20.01.2022)

Our former postdoc Jonas Sauer has accepted a junior professorship for Analysis at Jena University. The university recently featured him in an article about his new position and a novel podcast concept geared towards early-career researchers.

Read more >>>

Future proof — Congrats on the appointment at TU Hamburg (24.08.2021)

In April 2021, our former group leader Nihat Ay was appointed professor at the Hamburg University of Technology (TUHH) and Head of the Institute for Data Science Foundations as part of the Hamburg Innovation Port.

Read more >>>

Future proof - Career step towards Portugal for Eliana Duarte (05.03.2021)

A big step in her scientific career awaits our former postdoc Eliana Maria Duarte Gelvez. In Portugal, she was able to acquire one of five highly coveted fellowships in the field of mathematics and computer science. This now gives her the opportunity to continue her research in the field of algebraic geometry at a host institution of her choice - the Centro de Matemática of the Universidade do Porto.

Read more >>>

Future proof — Mateusz Michałek (19.10.2020)

After countless publications, the composition of an extensive book on Nonlinear Algebra and many fruitful mathematical discussions Mateusz Michałek has left the institute for a new position at the University of Konstanz. More than three years of exemplary science as research group leader in “Combinatorial Algebraic Geometry” under his belt, he now took on the function of professor of Geometry (Real Geometry and Algebra). We would like to extend our heartfelt congratulations on his well-deserved success and wish him all the best in his new position. Mateusz gives us a wonderful insight into his mathematical uprising and features his research at the institute in our Future proof column.

Read more >>>

Future Proof – ERC Starting Grants for Martina Hofmanová and Julian Fischer (07.09.2020)

We would to like to congratulate our former scientists Martina Hofmanová and Julian Fischer who rank among Europe's best young researchers. For their excellent work they have each been awarded an ERC Starting Grant.

Read more >>>

Future proof — South China Sea Masters and Glushko dissertation prize awarded to former MiS Ph.D. students (23.04.2020)

Tinggui Zhang and Damián Blasi, both former Ph.D. students of Jürgen Jost, have been awarded the "South China Sea Masters" youth project funding and the Robert J. Glushko dissertation prizes in cognitive science, respectively.

Read more >>>

Future proof — Angkana Rüland (18.03.2020)

After more than two years of excellent research at the institute, Angkana Rüland is leaving us to become a professor of applied mathematics at the Ruprecht-Karls-University in Heidelberg. We would like to congratulate Angkana on her position and wish her all the best in Heidelberg. Learn more about Angkana and her research at the institute in our new Future proof column.

Read more >>>

Future proof — Tim Laux appointed Bonn Junior Fellow (07.02.2020)

We would like to congratulate our former IMPRS and PhD student Tim Laux on his appointment as Bonn Junior Fellow at the Hausdorff Center for Mathematics (HCM) in January of this year. He continues to be interested in problems of geometric analysis with his current research group on variational methods and mathematical aspects of materials science. At the end of July Tim will be hosting his first workshop at the HCM on the topic of geometric and applied analysis (registration is open until May 31, respectively March 31, 2020, for funding opportunities).

Tim wrote his dissertation under the supervision of Felix Otto on the topic of "Convergence of phase-field models and thresholding schemes via the gradient-flow structure of multi-phase mean-curvature flow". In 2018 he was awarded the prestigious Otto Hahn medal for his outstanding performance as a junior scientist. After his post-doc at the institute, he became a Morrey Visiting Assistant Professor at the University of California, Berkeley.

20.04.2022, 15:26