MiS Profile

Felix Otto - More Information


1997 A. P. Sloan Research Fellowship
2001 Max-Planck Forschungspreis
2006 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis
2007 Collatz-Prize
2017 Blaise Pascal Medal for Mathematics of the European Academy of Sciences
2018 Prof. Luigi Tartufari International Prize for Mathematics from the Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei
2020 Levi-Civita Prize for the Mathematical and Mechanical Sciences
since 2007 Member of the Academy of Science of the State of Nordrhein-Westfalen
since 2008 Member of the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
since 2014 Member of Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities
since 2015 Member of Academia Europaea


1998 Universität Erlangen (C4-Professor)
1999 University of Wisconsin-Madison (Full Professor)
1999 University of Texas at Austin (Full Professor)
1999 University of Chicago (Full Professor)


2000–2005 Nonlinearity
2002–2008 SIAM Journal for Multiscale Modeling and Simulation
2010–2018 Journal of Functional Analysis
since 1999 Archive for Rational Mechanics and Analysis, since 2020 Editor in chief
Since 2011 Journal of Evolution Equations
Since 2012 Journal of Nonlinear Science
Since 2014 La collection Maths and Applications, SMAi (Comité éditorial)
Since 2015 Proceedings of the Edinburgh Mathematical Society (Consulting editor)
Since 2020 Stochastics and Partial Differential Equations

Service to the Community (selected)

MFO scientific committee (2010-2024), chair (2016-2024)
DFG Review Board ‘Natural Science - Mathematics’ (2012-2020)
DFG reviewer in the evaluation process “Universities of Excellence” (2019)
Reviewer for ERC Advanced Grant
SIAM Council (2014-2019)
Chair of the SIAM Activity Group on Materials Sciences (2021-2023)
Member of the Selection Committee for the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Programme (2021-2029)  
Member of Program Committee for ICM 2022
Selection Committee for the Georg Cantor medal, 2012, 2014, and 2019 Deutsche Mathematiker-Vereinigung (DMV)
Selection Committee for the Heinz Gumin Prize for Mathematics of the Carl Friedrich von Siemens Foundation (2013-2017)
Shaw Prize Committee for Mathematics (2017-2019)
Advisory Board of the Physics Faculty, University of Leipzig (2012--)
Scientific Advisory Board of the Graduate School AICES Aachen
Advisory Board SISSA, Trieste (2017-2023)
Board member for 'School of Excellence' in Napoli (PhD program for Mathematics, Physics or Engineering) (2020--)
Selection Committee for Max Planck Research Group Leader positions and for free-floating Max Planck Research Groups (2018--)
Member of Program Committee for ICM 2022

Supervised PhD students

Ruben Cantero-Alvarez Nicolas Clozeau
Lukas Döring Jörg Drewenski
Wolf-Patrick Düll Elias Esselborn
Arianna Giunti Manuel Gnann
Natalie Grunewald Hans Knüpfer
Florian Kunick Tim Bastian Laux
Pablo Linares Christian Löschcke
Francesco Mattesini Georg Menz  
Camilla Nobili Patrick Penzler
Jules Pertinand Maxime Prod'homme
Tobias Rump Claudia Raithel
Christian Seis Thilo Simon
Jutta Steiner Markus Tempelmayr  
Thomas Viehmann