15/07/2024 19/07/2024

Summer School in Algebraic Combinatorics

Combinatorics is the study of finite and discrete structures. Starting from fundamental questions of ordering, decomposition and structuring of finitely many objects or states, combinatorics represents the nanotechnology of mathematics and its applications. Due to its interdisciplinarity, it is a central mathematical research area with influence across disciplinary boundaries, and hence plays a key role for Mathematics in the Sciences.

This summer school focuses on Algebraic Combinatorics. This branch employs methods of abstract algebra, notably group theory, representation theory and algebraic geometry, in various combinatorial contexts and, conversely, applies combinatorial techniques to problems in algebra. Key players include matroids, polytopes, hyperplane arrangements, root systems, generating functions, posets and lattices, symmetric functions, and Young tableux.

Three outstanding speakers (Chris Eur, Greta Panova and Vic Reiner) will present short courses on current topics in Algebraic Combinatorics. The lectures will take place from Monday afternoon to Friday afternoon. This school is part of the new DFG Priority program "Combinatorial Synergies".

Limited funding for accommodation and local travel support (e.g. trains and buses) is available for early-career participants such as postdoctoral researchers and PhD students. Applicants are expected to submit a brief academic CV and a motivation letter. The application for funding is included in the registration form.

Registration is already closed.


Chris Eur

Harvard University Homepage

Greta Panova

University of Southern California Homepage

Vic Reiner

University of Minnesota Homepage


Jul 15, 2024
14:00 - 17:00
17:00 - 18:00
Jul 16, 2024
09:00 - 12:00
12:00 - 14:00
14:00 - 16:00
17:00 - 00:00
Jul 17, 2024
09:00 - 12:00
12:00 - 14:00
14:00 - 17:00
Jul 18, 2024
09:00 - 12:00
12:00 - 14:00
14:00 - 17:00
Jul 19, 2024
09:00 - 12:00
12:00 - 14:00

Scientific Organizers

Sarah Brauner

University of Quebec at Montreal

Christian Stump

Ruhr-Universität Bochum

Bernd Sturmfels

Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences

Administrative Contact

Mirke Olschewski

Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences Contact via Mail