28/11/2022 30/11/2022

Pfaffians, Tensors, and Applications

The intention of this meeting is to encourage and facilitate the interaction between different communities engaging with Pfaffians or other tensor-related structures. Particular emphasis is put on explicit methods and applications to different areas of mathematics or other sciences. The goals of the workshop are to connect different communities, exchange knowledge, and inspire one another. The workshop features invited and contributed talks, as well as "open mic" and free discussion sessions in order to promote more informal discussions.

Confirmed speakers include:

We are currently exploring possibilites of funding for young researches. More information will follow. At the moment, there is no restriction regarding the number of participants, however, due to the pandemic this might change during fall. We will update this website immediately if there will be a limit of allowed in person participants.


08:50 - 09:00
09:00 - 10:00 Daniel Plaumann (Technische Universität Dortmund)
Determinantal hypersurfaces
10:00 - 10:30
10:30 - 11:30 Tobias Rossmann (University of Galway, Galway, Ireland)
Tensors and group orbits
11:30 - 12:10 Javier Sendra Arranz (Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences, Leipzig, Germany)
The Hessian map of hypersurfaces
12:10 - 12:30
12:30 - 14:00
14:00 - 15:00 Ada Boralevi (Politecnico di Torino, Torino, Italy)
Spaces of matrices with rank conditions
15:00 - 15:30
15:30 - 16:10 Tim Seynnaeve (KU Leuven, Leuven, Belgium)
Universal equations for Lagrangian and isotropic Grassmannians
16:10 - 16:50 Pierpaola Santarsiero (MPI-MiS, Leipzig, Germany)
Representation theory of signature tensors
16:50 - 18:00
09:00 - 10:00 Dragos Fratila (Universite de Strasbourg, Strasbourg, France)
Jordan--Chevalley decomposition for G-bundles on genus one curves
10:00 - 10:30
10:30 - 11:30 Willem de Graaf (University of Trento, Trento, Italy)
Classifications of complex and real tensors
11:30 - 12:10 Robert Zeier (Forschungszentrum Jülich, Jülich, Germany)
From algebra and symmetries to quantum computing
12:10 - 12:30
12:30 - 14:00
14:00 - 15:00 James Wilson (Colorado State University, Fort Collins, USA)
Tensor-Ideal-Operator Correspondence
15:00 - 15:30
15:30 - 16:10 Sara Angela Filippini (Jagiellonian University, Kraków, Poland)
Free resolutions from opposite Schubert varieties in minuscule homogeneous spaces
16:10 - 16:50 Hirotachi Abo (University of Idaho, Moscow, USA)
Compatibility of eigenconfigurations
16:50 - 18:00
19:30 - 00:00
09:00 - 10:00 Daniele Agostini (Universitaet Tuebingen, Tuebingen, Germany)
Sato Grassmannian and polynomial theta functions
10:00 - 10:40
10:40 - 11:20 Lukas Kühne (Universität Bielefeld, Bielefeld, Germany)
Matroids and Algebra
11:20 - 12:00 Vincenzo Antonelli (Politecnico di Torino, Torino, Italy)
Steiner representations of hypersurfaces
12:00 - 13:20
13:20 - 14:00 Claire Gilson (University of Glasgow, Glasgow, United Kingdom)
Pfaffian Solutions to Non-Commutative Integrable Systems
14:00 - 15:00 Alexandru Suciu (Northeastern University, Boston, USA)
Cohomology jump loci, Poincaré duality, and Pfaffians


Hirotachi Abo

University of Idaho

Daniele Agostini

Universitaet Tuebingen

Vincenzo Antonelli

Politecnico di Torino

Ada Boralevi

Politecnico di Torino

Lars Bügemannskemper

Universität Bielefeld

Gaia Comaschi

Université de Bourgogne

Willem de Graaf

University of Trento

Daniele Faenzi

Université de Bourgogne, CNRS

Sara Angela Filippini

Jagiellonian University

Dragos Fratila

Universite de Strasbourg

Özhan Genç

Jagiellonian University

Claire Gilson

University of Glasgow

Louis Frederik Herwig

Technical University of Munich

Naihuan Jing

North Carolina State University & MPI MiS

Lukas Kühne

Universität Bielefeld

Joshua Maglione


Bianca Marchionna

University of Bielefeld / University of Milano-Bicocca

Raffaella Mulas


Raul Penaguiao

MPI Leipzig

Daniel Plaumann

Technische Universität Dortmund

Angel David Rios Ortiz

MPI Leipzig

Tobias Rossmann

University of Galway

Pierpaola Santarsiero


Javier Sendra Arranz

Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences

Tim Seynnaeve

KU Leuven

Rainer Sinn

Universität Leipzig

Linus Sommer

Universität Leipzig

Mima Stanojkovski

Università di Trento

Alexandru Suciu

Northeastern University

Jakob Tintelnot

University of Leipzig


TU Graz

Christopher Voll

Bielefeld University

James Wilson

Colorado State University

Robert Zeier

Forschungszentrum Jülich

Scientific Organizers

Daniele Faenzi

Université de Bourgogne, CNRS

Joshua Maglione


Mima Stanojkovski

Università di Trento

Administrative Contact

Saskia Gutzschebauch

Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences Contact via Mail

Mirke Olschewski

Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences Contact via Mail