07.10.24 11.10.24

20 years of Anosov representations

Since their introduction in François Labourie's seminal 2004 paper, Anosov representations have been a driving force in the study of discrete subgroups of higher-rank Lie groups, and have helped to stimulate two decades of research in the area. This conference/workshop, celebrating 20 years of progress in the field, brings together researchers studying the geometric, dynamical, and algebraic aspects of Anosov representations, as well as their connections to other topics.

The event will consist of a two-day introductory workshop for younger mathematicians, intended to provide an overview of Anosov representations for those new to the subject, followed by a three-day research conference focusing on recent developments. Participants should feel free to apply to attend either the workshop or the conference, or both. The workshop will consist mainly of expository talks given by participants; younger mathematicians (especially early PhD students) are invited to apply to give one of these talks.

Partial funding will be available for young researchers. If you would like to apply for funding, please indicate so during the registration process.

Deadline for funding request: May 31, 2024.

The speakers for the Young Researchers Workshop are (in order of their talks):

  • Debattam Das (IISER Mohali)
  • Jennifer Vaccaro (University of Illinois at Chicago)
  • Enya Hsiao (MPI MiS )
  • Jordan Grant (University of Michigan)
  • Victor Jaeck (ETH Zurich)
  • Blandine Galiay (IHES)
  • Luis Torres (University of Texas at Austin)
  • Thimothé Lemistre (Université de Nice)
  • Joaquin Lejtreger (Sorbonne Université)
  • Vicky Wen (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

The speakers of the Conference are (in alphabetic order):

  • Dick Canary (University of Michigan)
  • Subhadip Dey (MPI MiS)
  • Simion Filip (University of Chicago)
  • Xenia Flamm (MPI MiS)
  • François Labourie (Université Côte d‘Azur)
  • Sara Maloni (University of Virginia)
  • Hee Oh (Yale University)
  • Maria Beatrice Pozzetti (Heidelberg University)
  • Andrés Sambarino (CNRS - Sorbonne Université)
  • Nicolas Tholozan (CNRS - École Normale Supérieure)
  • Jérémy Toulisse (Université Côte d‘Azur)
  • Kostas Tsouvalas (MPI MiS)
  • Tengren Zhang (National University of Singapore)

Organised in partnership with the Clay Mathematics Institute.

WARNING: Please be wary if a company directly contacts you regarding payment for accommodation in Leipzig: this is fraud / phishing.

Organizers of the Conference

Olivier Guichard

Université de Strasbourg

Fanny Kassel

Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques

Anna Wienhard

Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences

Organizers of the Young Researcher's Workshop

Jacques Audibert

Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences

Xenia Flamm

Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences

Kostas Tsouvalas

Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences

Teddy Weisman

Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences


Antje Vandenberg (administrative contact)

Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences Contact via Mail

J. Audibert, X. Flamm, K. Tsouvalas, T. Weisman (organizational contact)