12/02/2024 16/02/2024

Positive Geometry in Particle Physics and Cosmology

This is the kick-off workshop for the ERC-synergy project with the same title which starts in June 2024. Lectures and discussions will explore novel mathematical structures in fundamental physics, ranging from elementary particles to the Big Bang, and revealing hidden principles beyond quantum mechanics and spacetime. We will focus on positive geometries, such as amplituhedron, and their recent applications to scattering amplitudes and cosmology. The program of the week will begin with plenary presentations by international experts, and it will conclude with shorter research talks, informal discussions, and intense working groups. To foster interactions with Leipzig University, Daniel Baumann (University of Amsterdam) will give the Physics Colloquium on Tuesday, and Nima Arkani-Hamed (IAS Princeton) will give the Felix-Klein Colloquium on Wednesday.

Limited travel funding can be provided for early-career participants such as postdoctoral researchers and PhD students. Applicants are expected to submit a brief academic CV and a motivation letter. The application for funding is included in the registration form.

The deadline for registering will be December 15, 2023.


Nima Arkani-Hamed

IAS Princeton

Daniel Baumann

University of Amsterdam

Hofie Hannesdottir

IAS Princeton

Pierre Lairez


Pierpaolo Mastrolia

University of Padua

Saiei-Jaeyeong Matsubara-Heo

Kumamoto University

Scott Melville

Queen Mary University of London

Sebastian Mizera

IAS Princeton

Enrico Pajer

University of Cambridge

Matteo Parisi

Harvard University / IAS Princeton

Guilherme Pimentel

Scuola Normale Pisa

Giulio Salvatori

MPI for Physics, Munich

Anna-Laura Sattelberger

KTH Royal Institute of Technology

Oliver Schlotterer

Uppsala University

Carsten Schneider

RISC, Johannes Kepler University, Linz

Melissa Sherman-Bennett

Massachusetts Institute of Technology / UC Davis

Marcus Spradlin

Harvard / Brown University

Ran Tessler

Weizmann Institute of Science

Jaroslav Trnka

UC Davis

Feb 12, 2024
09:00 Johannes Henn (Max Planck Institute for Physics, Munich, Munich), Bernd Sturmfels (Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences, Leipzig)
09:30 Marcus Spradlin (Harvard / Brown University)
Some aspects of positive particle physics
11:00 Ran Tessler (Weizmann Institute of Science)
12:00 Hofie Hannesdottir (IAS Princeton)
16:00 Pierre Lairez (INRIA Paris)
The 22 periods of a quartic surface
17:00 Matteo Parisi (Harvard University / IAS Princeton)
Feb 13, 2024
09:00 Scott Melville (Queen Mary University of London)
10:00 Giulio Salvatori (MPI for Physics, Munich)
11:30 Melissa Sherman-Bennett (Massachusetts Institute of Technology / UC Davis)
13:30 Carsten Schneider (RISC, Johannes Kepler University, Linz)
14:30 Guilherme Pimentel (Scuola Normale Pisa)
An invitation to cosmological correlators and differential equations
Feb 14, 2024
09:00 Sebastian Mizera (IAS Princeton)
10:00 Anna-Laura Sattelberger (KTH Royal Institute of Technology)
Shift relations among Feynman integrals from parametric annihilators
11:30 Pierpaolo Mastrolia (University of Padua)
13:30 Saiei-Jaeyeong Matsubara-Heo (Kumamoto University)
14:30 Jaroslav Trnka (UC Davis)
Feb 15, 2024
11:30 Enrico Pajer (University of Cambridge)
14:30 Oliver Schlotterer (Uppsala University)
Iterated integrals on Riemann surfaces of different genus
Feb 16, 2024

Scientific Organizers

Johannes Henn

Max Planck Institute for Physics

Bernd Sturmfels

Max-Planck-Institut für Mathematik in den Naturwissenschaften

Administrative Contact

Mirke Olschewski

Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences Contact by email