Teubner Foundation Science Award goes to Michael Struwe

Published 30.06.2022

The Benedictus Gotthelf Teubner Foundation honors Professor Michael Struwe with the 2022 Science Prize for the Promotion of Mathematical Sciences. The public award ceremony with laudation by the Director of the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics in the Sciences Jürgen Jost and a keynote lecture will take place on Friday, July 8 at 4:30 p.m. in the Felix Klein Lecture Hall of the Mathematical Institute of the University of Leipzig at Augustusplatz. In the morning, Michael Struwe will give a lecture at the Max Planck Institute, which can be attended online.

The German-Swiss professor for mathematics Michael Struwe is one of the leading experts in the field of nonlinear partial differential equations and calculus of variations and their applications in mathematical physics and differential geometry. Michael Struwe, born in 1955, studied, received his doctorate and habilitated in 1984 at the University of Bonn, where he worked in a collaborative research centre as well as at the Mathematical Institute. After extended research stays in Paris and Zurich, he was appointed to the ETH Zurich, where he has been teaching and researching since 1986, first as assistant and associate professor and since 1993 as full professor of mathematics. Michael Struwe was awarded, among others, the Felix-Hausdorff Prize of the University of Bonn, the Credit Suisse Award for Best Teaching, and the Georg Cantor medal of the Deutsche Mathematiker-Vereinigung (German Mathematical Society). He is a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society and an elected member of the German National Academy of Science Leopoldina. To mark the awards ceremony, Professor Struwe will give a lecture on “Variational Methods in Geometric Analysis”.

This year's event commemorates the founder and supporter of the Teubner Foundation Jürgen Weiß, who passed away in 2021. Thanks to his initiative and exceptional commitment, the Teubner Prize for the Promotion of Mathematical Sciences was established in 2014. Since then, it has been awarded every two years to outstanding scientists. The prize follows on from the “Alfred Ackermann Memorial Prize for the Promotion of Mathematical Sciences”, which was awarded in Leipzig from 1914 to 1941 and whose first laureate was Felix Klein.

The Teubner Foundation was established in 2003 in the House of Books in Leipzig with the purpose of promoting science and research in the spirit of Benedictus Gotthelf Teubner. It preserves the memory of the successful Saxon publishing bookseller, company founder, book printer, typographer and Leipzig city councilor in the public consciousness.